Rugby World Cup 2015 Detailed: History, Fixtures, Match Venues and Pools

LONDON, ENGLAND - DECEMBER 03:  The Webb Ellis trophy is displayed prior to the IRB Rugby World Cup 2015 pool allocation draw at the Tate Modern on December 3, 2012 in London, England.  (Photo by David Rogers/Getty Images for IRB)The Rugby World Cup is a men’s rugby union tournament contested every four years between the top international teams. The most recent tournament was held in 2011 in New Zealand, whose national team won the tournament by defeating France in the final. The 2015 Rugby World Cup is scheduled to be the eighth Rugby World Cup, the quadrennial rugby union world championship. The tournament will be hosted by England from 18 September to 31 October Where Twickenham Stadium in London will host the final.

England was chosen to host the competition in July 2009, beating rival bids from Italy, Japan and South Africa. The competition’s organizers, Rugby World Cup Limited, had recommended England to the International Rugby Board (IRB; now known as World Rugby). Three teams have won the trophy twice, Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa; while England have won the tournament once.

The 2015 tournament will involve twenty nations competing over six weeks. There are two stages, a group and a knock-out. Nations are divided into four pools, A through to D, of five nations each. The teams are seeded before the start of the tournament, with the seedings taken from the World Rankings in December 2012. The four highest-ranked teams are drawn into pools A to D. The next four highest-ranked teams are then drawn into the pools at, followed by the next four. The remaining positions in each pool are filled by the qualifiers.

Nations play four pool games, playing their respective pool members once each. A bonus points system is used during pool play. If two or more teams are level on points, a system of criteria is used to determine the higher ranked; the sixth and final criterion decides the higher rank through the official World Rankings.

The winner and runner-up of each pool enter the knock-out stage. The knock-out stage consists of quarter- and semi-finals, and then the final. The winner of each pool is placed against a runner-up of a different pool in a quarter-final. The winner of each quarter-final goes on to the semi-finals, and the respective winners proceed to the final. Losers of the semi-finals contest for third place, called the ‘Bronze Final’. If a match in the knock-out stages ends in a draw, the winner is determined through extra time. If that fails, the match goes into sudden death and the next team to score any points is the winner. As a last resort, a kicking competition is used.


Tournament Prediction: There is no doubt in my mind that the All Blacks will make it out of the pool stages, that’s simply a given. However, will the lack of high caliber opposition mean that the All Blacks will head to the quarterfinals slightly unprepared? I think that there is a good chance of that happening, but even then I don’t think that that will be enough to out the All Blacks out that early. I predict the All Blacks reaching the final, but then being beaten. All Blacks fans will probably mock that choice, but I almost feel its too easy to pick the All Blacks. Now you’re wondering, “but to who, who will win?!!??” well that will be revealed, but all in good time.

Share on Your Comment Box Which Team You back to win and the player you count on..

Click Respective for: Fixtures, Pools, Match Venues & Tickets. Credit wiki.


By Kelley Boss


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s